Chinese Dynastic History

dynasties		periods	notes
Xia		c. 2100 – 1600? BCE	
Shang		c. 1600 – 1046? BCE	
Western Zhou		c. 1046 – 771 BCE	
Eastern Zhou	Spring and Autumn	c. 722 – 481 BCE	Confucius (c. 552-479 BCE)
	Warring States	c. 435 – 221 BCE	
Qin		221 – 206 BCE	The first imperial dynasty of China
Han		206 BCE – 220 CE	Initial entry of Buddhism into China
Three Kingdoms		220 – 265 (or 280)	
Western Jin		265–317	
Eastern Jin		317 – 420	
Northern and Southern Dynasties		420 – 589	North ruled by the non-Chinese rulers
Sui		581 - 618	Reunification of the empire
Tang		618 – 907	Golden age of Buddhism
Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms		907 – 979	
Song		960–1279	
Yuan		1271 – 1368	Mongol government
Ming		1368 - 1644	
Qing		1644 – 1911	Manchu government